Monday, December 18, 2017

UFC 71: No Redemption Tonight

Rampage Jackson (Photo:

UFC 71: Liddell vs. Rampage – Las Vegas, Nev. - MGM Grand Garden Arena – May 26, 2007

Chuck Liddell sought to avenge a loss to Rampage Jackson, but Rampage took his title instead at UFC 71.

The two had met at PRIDE Final Conflict 2003, which Rampage winning by TKO.

“The Iceman” tried to even the score, but Jackson knocked him out in 1:53 to win the UFC light heavyweight title.

Dan Henderson, who held two PRIDE championships when the company closed, was announced as Jackson’s first challenger.

Karo Parisyan moved up the welterweight rankings in the co-main event, beating Josh Burkman by unanimous decision.

Terry Martin slammed Ivan Salaverry before finishing him with punches for a TKO at the 2:04 mark.

Houston Alexander used punches and knees to knock out Keith Jardine in 48 seconds. Alexander improved his record to 7-1.

TUF competitor Kalib “The Running Man” Starnes won the PPV opener over Chris Leben by unanimous decision.

Din Thomas used an armbar to earn a technical submission over Jeremy Stephens in Round 2 of a preliminary fight.

The other prelim bouts took place in the light heavyweight division.

Alan "The Talent" Belcher beat Sean Salmon with a guillotine choke in 53 seconds; Wilson Gouveia used the same move to beat Carmelo Marrero at the 3:06 mark; and Thiago Silva defeated James Irvin by referee stoppage in 66 seconds due to a knee injury.

No comments:

Post a Comment