Monday, March 26, 2018

UFC Fight Night 13: Fade to Gray

Gray Maynard (Photo:

UFC Fight Night 13 – Broomfield (Colo.) Event Center – April 2, 2008

Gray Maynard won the first leg of his fight trilogy against Frankie Edgar at UFC Fight Night 13.

Both lightweights were undefeated heading into the fight, and Maynard got the unanimous decision with 30-27 scorecards across the board.

Edgar and Maynard fought twice in 2011 for Edgar’s lightweight title. They battled to a draw at UFC 125, and Edgar won their final encounter at UFC 136.

In the main event of UFC Fight Night 13, Kenny Florian scored a TKO win over Joe Lauzon in the lightweight main event.

Florian notched in fourth win in a row on a march toward a title shot at BJ Penn, which he received in August 2009.

UFC 82: Championship Collision

Photo: Dan Henderson (

UFC 82: Pride of a Champion – Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena – March 1, 2008

Dan Henderson’s second PRIDE-UFC title unification fight didn’t go any better than the first.

Six months after losing his PRIDE middleweight title to UFC light heavyweight champ Rampage Jackson, Henderson dropped the PRIDE welterweight title to UFC middleweight champion Anderson Silva.

Silva used a rear naked choke to win the fight late in Round 2.

“The Texas Crazy Horse” Heath Herring beat fellow rising heavyweight Cheick Kongo by split decision.

Yushin Okami knocked out Evan Tanner with a knee strike in Round 2. Chris Leben beat Alessio Sakara by TKO at the 3:16 mark.

In the pay-per-view opener, Jon Fitch improved to 9-0 in the UFC with a unanimous decision over Chris “The Professor” Wilson.

Poor Andrei Arlovski, a former UFC heavyweight champion, was relegated to the pre-show. He beat Jake O’Brien by TKO in Round 2.

Josh Koscheck used a head kick a flurry of punches to beat Dustin Hazelett by TKO in Round 2.

Diego Sanchez, who invented the “YES!” chant, made David Bielkheden of Sweden tap out to strikes late in the first round.

Other pre-show results included Luigi FIoravanti over Luke Cummo by unanimous decision; and Jorge Gurgel over John Halverson by unanimous decision.

Thursday, March 8, 2018

UFC 81: Brock Lesnar Debuts

Brock Lesnar (Photo:

UFC 81: Breaking Point – Las Vegas, Nev. – Mandalay Bay Events Center – Feb. 2, 2008

Brock Lesnar debuted in the Octagon at UFC 81, losing to Frank Mir in 90 seconds on Super Bowl weekend.

The former NCAA and WWE champion lost a point for striking Mir in the back of the head before tapping out to a kneebar.

Lesnar’s debut drew 600,000 pay-per-view buys, and he would later capture the UFC heavyweight championship. This gave Lesnar even more credibility when he went back to the WWE.

Antonio Rodrigo Noguiera captured the UFC interim heavyweight title by defeating Tim Sylvia with a guillotine choke in Round 3.  Big Nog became the first man to hold heavyweight titles in PRIDE and UFC.

UFC Fight Night 12: Slim Margin of Victory

Mike Swick (Photo:

UFC Fight Night 12 – Las Vegas, Nev. – The Pearl at The Palms – Jan. 23, 2008

Mike Swick debuted in the welterweight division by narrowly defeating Josh Burkman in the main event of UFC Fight Night 12.

Swick improved to 11-2 with a majority decision victory in the battle of The Ultimate Fighter alumni. Two judges scored the fight 29-28 for Swick, while the other called it 29-29.

In the middleweight co-main event, Patrick “The Predator” Cote beat Drew McFedries by TKO at the 1:44 mark. Cote’s third straight win moved him closer to a title shot against Anderson Silva.

Monday, March 5, 2018

UFC 80: The Double-Champion Club

BJ Penn (Photo:

UFC 80: Rapid Fire – Newcastle, England – Metro Radio Arena – Jan. 19, 2008

BJ Penn became the second fighter to win titles in two weight classes at UFC 80.

“The Prodigy” beat TUF 2 winner Joe Stevenson win the UFC lightweight title, which Sean “The Muscle Shark” Sherk lost due a steroid-related suspension.

Penn, a former welterweight champion, joined Randy Couture as champs of two weight classes.

In the heavyweight co-main event, Fabricio Werdum beat Gabriel Gonzaga by TKO in Round 2.

“The Irish Hand Grenade” Marcus Davis won his 11th fight in a row, knocking out Jess Liaudin of France in 64 seconds.

UFC 79: Wheel of Welterweights

Georges St. Pierre (Photo:

UFC 79: Nemesis – Dec. 29, 2007 – Las Vegas, Nev. – Mandalay Bay Events Center

Georges St. Pierre moved closer to regaining his welterweight crown at UFC 79.

GSP won the interim welterweight title when Matt Hughes verbally submitted to an armbar with six seconds left in Round 2.

Hughes had been scheduled to challenge Matt Serra for the welterweight title in the TUF 6 coaches’ fight. However, Serra dropped out due to injury.

GSP’s win put him in a position to recapture the title he lost to Serra in a huge upset at UFC 69.

Chuck Liddell won a unanimous decision over Wanderlei Silva in the main event, which was billed as “a battle years in the making.” Silva’s status as one of PRIDE’s top stars made this bout a dream match.

In a heavyweight battle, Eddie Sanchez beat Soa “The Hulk” Palelei by TKO in Round 3.