Monday, March 5, 2018

UFC 79: Wheel of Welterweights

Georges St. Pierre (Photo:

UFC 79: Nemesis – Dec. 29, 2007 – Las Vegas, Nev. – Mandalay Bay Events Center

Georges St. Pierre moved closer to regaining his welterweight crown at UFC 79.

GSP won the interim welterweight title when Matt Hughes verbally submitted to an armbar with six seconds left in Round 2.

Hughes had been scheduled to challenge Matt Serra for the welterweight title in the TUF 6 coaches’ fight. However, Serra dropped out due to injury.

GSP’s win put him in a position to recapture the title he lost to Serra in a huge upset at UFC 69.

Chuck Liddell won a unanimous decision over Wanderlei Silva in the main event, which was billed as “a battle years in the making.” Silva’s status as one of PRIDE’s top stars made this bout a dream match.

In a heavyweight battle, Eddie Sanchez beat Soa “The Hulk” Palelei by TKO in Round 3. 

Lyoto Machida improved to 12-0, as he beat debuting PRIDE star Rameau “The African Assassin” Thierry Sokoudjou with an arm triangle choke in Round 2.

Rich Clementi kicked off the pay-per-view with a win over “The Young Assassin” Melvin Guillard, who submitted to a rear naked choke at the 4:40 mark.

James Irvin won a preliminary bout by disqualification after Luiz Cane landed an illegal knee strike. Manny Gamburyan forced Nate Mohr to submit to an ankle lock in 91 seconds.

In other pre-show fights, Mark Bocek beat Doug Evans by unanimous decision; Roan Carneiro defeated Tony DeSouza by TKO in Round 2; and Dean Lister beat Jordan Radev by unanimous decision.

No comments:

Post a Comment