Saturday, January 19, 2019

UFC 107: BJ Penn Runs the Lightweight Division

Diego Sanchez (Photo:

UFC 107: Penn vs. Sanchez – Memphis, Tenn. – FedEx Forum – Dec. 12, 2009

BJ Penn outlasted Diego Sanchez to make history as UFC lightweight champion at UFC 107.

Penn became the first lightweight champion to defend the title three times. He busted open Sanchez’s forehead with a kick, and the doctor stopped the fight in the middle of Round 5.

In the co-main event, Frank Mir won a heavyweight clash with Cheick Kongo. Mir used a guillotine choke to score a technical submission in 72 seconds.

John Fitch won his 19th of his last 20 fights, scoring a unanimous decision over Mike Pierce.

Kenny Florian stayed strong in the lightweight division, beating Clay Guida by submission to a rear-naked choke in Round 2.

In the pay-per-view opener, Stefan “Skyscraper” Struve won his third fight in a row by majority decision over Paul Buentello.

In pre-show fights, Alan Belcher beat Wilson Gouveia by TKO in just over three minutes in a bout at a 195-pound catchweight.

Matt Wiman beat Shane Nelson by unanimous decision; and Rousimar Palhares beat Lucio Linhares by submission to a heel hook in the second round.

The other three pre-show fights took place in the welterweight division. Johny “Bigg Rigg” Hendricks improved to 7-0 with a unanimous decision over Ricardo Funch.  

TJ Grant beat Kevin Burns by TKO just before the end of Round 1. DaMarques Johnson forced Edgar Garcia to submit to a triangle choke at the 4:03 mark.

No comments:

Post a Comment