Monday, September 2, 2019

UFC 121: Dethroning the King of the Jungle

Cain Velasquez (Photo:

UFC 121: Lesnar v. Velasquez – Anaheim, Calif. – Honda Center – Oct. 23, 2010

Cain Velasquez knocked Brock Lesnar off the top of the mountain, winning the heavyweight title at UFC 121.

The undefeated Mexican-American fighter weathered a storm of Lesnar’s takedown attempts and unleashed a flurry of strikes to win by TKO at the 4:12 mark.

In the co-main event, Strikeforce veteran Jake Shields won his UFC debut with a split decision over Martin “The Hitman” Kampmann.

Tito Ortiz lost to his former student, Matt Hamill, by unanimous decision. Diego Sanchez also won by unanimous decision over Paulo Thiago.

Brendan Schaub opened the pay-per-view with a unanimous decision over Gabriel Gonzaga.
On the Spike TV prelims, Sam Stout won a split decision over Paul Taylor. Chris Camozzi beat Dongi Yang, also by split decision.

Daniel Roberts beat Mike Guymon by submission to an anaconda choke in 73 seconds. Jon Madsen improved to 4-0, defeating Gilbert Yvel by TKO in 1 minute, 48 seconds.

Court “The Crusher” McGee used an arm triangle choke to defeat Ryan Jensen in the third round.  Tom “Filthy” Lawlor beat Patrick Cote by unanimous decision.

No comments:

Post a Comment