Saturday, March 28, 2020

UFC 136: The Trilogy Concludes

Frankie Edgar (Photo:

UFC 136: Edgar vs. Maynard III – Houston, Texas – Toyota Center – Oct. 8, 2011

Frankie Edgar won his trilogy over Gray Maynard to retain the UFC lightweight title at UFC 136.

Maynard won their first meeting in 2008, making him a natural challenger for Edgar’s title on New Year’s Day 2011. That bout ended in draw.

In the third bout, Edgar overcame Maynard’s challenge with a TKO in the fourth round.

In the co-main event, Jose Aldo retained the UFC featherweight title with a unanimous decision over Kenny Florian. Aldo notched his fourth successful title defense.

Chael Sonnen forced Brian Stann to submit to an arm triangle choke in the second round. Nam Phan defeated Leonard Garcia by unanimous decision.

Joe Lauzon opened the pay-per-view with a 47-second win over “The Young Assassin” Melvin Guillard via rear naked choke.

On the Spike TV pre-show, Anthony “Showtime” Pettis won a split decision over Jeremy Stephens. Demian Maia beat Jorge Santiago by unanimous decision.

Stipe Miocic debuted on the Facebook pre-show. He beat Joey Beltran by unanimous decision to improve his pro record to 7-0.

The other Facebook fights also resulted in unanimous decisions. Darren Elkins beat Tiequan Zhang; Mike Massenzio defeated Steve Cantwell; and Aaron Simpson beat Eric Shafer.

No comments:

Post a Comment