Tuesday, April 21, 2020

UFC 141: The Party's Almost Over

Brock Lesnar (Photo: mmaweekly.com)

UFC 141: Lesnar vs. Overeem – Las Vegas, Nev. – MGM Grand Garden Arena – Dec. 30, 2011

Brock Lesnar left the Octagon for more than four years after losing to Alistair Overeem at UFC 141.

Overeem won the main event by TKO in 2 minutes, 26 seconds.

Lesnar, a former UFC heavyweight champion, only had one more Octagon fight, a no-contest against Mark Hunt at UFC 200.

Before and after that bout, Lesnar dominated the WWE, winning several World titles and headlining multiple WrestleManias.

Nate Diaz won the co-main event by unanimous decision over Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone.

Johny "Bigg Rigg" Hendricks knocked out Jon Fitch in 12 seconds to improve his record to 14-1 and move closer to a welterweight title fight with Georges St. Pierre.

Alexander Gustafsson defeated Vladimir “The Janitor” Matyushenko by TKO at the 2:13 mark.

Jimy “The Kid” Hettes improved to 10-0 with a unanimous decision over Nam Phan in the featherweight division.

On the final Spike TV pre-show, Ross Pearson beat Junior Assuncao by unanimous decision. Danny Castillo won a split decision over Anthony Njokuani.

All three Facebook preliminary fights resulted in unanimous decisions. Jacob Volkmann beat Efrain Escudero; Diego Nunes defeated Manny Gamburyan; and Dong Hyun Kim beat Sean Pierson.

No comments:

Post a Comment